A simple winter hot cocoa bar

Christmas week is here! Can you believe it? I can clearly remember counting down to Christmas as a child and it seemed to take forever! Time sure has a way of sneaking up on us, am I right?! Sure the stress of the Christmas deadline can tend to take a toll but I am not going to let it steal my joy. As much as I have to get done this week, I am being diligent in setting aside time to truly enjoy the season..  I make a point each morning to have my coffee in front of our Christmas tree to admire its beauty and all our decorations. We’ve taken a longer drive home to ooh and ahhh over all the Christmas lights that brighten the street. We make popcorn and watch Christmas movies as a family. And of course, we drink hot cocoa with all the fixings!

20151218_194754This year I set up a hot cocoa bar in our dining room. My children love hot cocoa so I usually have a small hot cocoa station yet up in the kitchen, but this year we made it a main display! I folded a white tablecloth like a table runner, and placed it across the top of our buffet table. I centered a mirror along the back and started draping white lights… it still needed something: clippings from our Christmas tree! I leaned a small branch along the side, placed a piece on the top of the mirror and one on the stand, ta-daaaa, perfect!


Screenshot_2015-12-21-10-38-11-1The white tray in the center, we bought from Sams Club last year; the day after Christmas. It was a “breakfast in bed for two” set with 2 mugs, 2 cloth napkins, pancake mix, coffee press, a package of coffee, mini syrup, mini jams and cookies and it cost $35… but not on December 26th; we bought it for only $10! It was such a bargain that about an hour later we decided to go back to buy another one and they were all gone! The glass mugs are from our Christmas dishes that we received for our first Christmas, and the carafe is Aladdin brand from Wal-Mart about 9 years ago.


20151221_093028

The 2 larger Ball perfect mason jars with the metal Atlas tops, belonged to my grandmother. I have dark chocolate hot cocoa mix in one and mini marshmallow in the other. The 4 small Ball mason jars were a set I had bought a few years ago at Marshalls but I have seen them at both Wal-Mart and Target as well. They are filled with Christmas sprinkles, caramel pieces, mini chocolate chips and Hershey Kisses. The glass jar holding the peppermint sticks is actually a used coconut oil jar from Aldi’s that I had washed and removed the label from.


20151221_110307How adorable is this snowman cookie jar? I think I paid $2 for him at a garage sale over 10 years ago! I am not sure where you can find one, but the bottom says FWC cook’s bizarre brand. I currently have him filled with yummy cookies; because hello, cookies go great with cocoa! He sits atop my very favorite cake stand. The best part about this stand; if you turn the stand over, it can be used as a chip and dip platter. How perfect is that?! I had received this as a gift when we used to host our annual New Year’s Eve parties; it was filled with shrimp and cocktail sauce!


20151221_105201

The beautiful silver sparkly wreath ornament was given to me as a gift many years ago from my very dear friend and neighbor. This small square chalkboard is from Target. It was an end cap clearance find and I think I paid around $4 or $5…. I couldn’t wait to use it! I am thinking of leaving this display up through January, since it’s a wintry treat for both your eyes and belly! What do you all think? I mean after all, winter and hot cocoa go hand in hand…. well, at least it does in our home!

 

Thanks for stopping by, hope you enjoyed our Christmas cocoa display. Sending you all warm wishes for a sweet and joyful holiday season!

Blessings ~Danielle

 

 

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post... I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply

