A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out – DAY 4

Welcome day 4! If you haven’t already read my original post A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out, please take a moment to read it here. I would love for you to join me on this 10 day challenge to open your heart, mind and soul to thankfulness.

The photo is from my morning walk with Lucky. I just had to stop and admire God’s breathtaking masterpiece in the sky. Then of course I had to snap a picture to share with all of you! Look at all the swirls of color and the way the light of the sun just beginning to rise casts a beautiful glow from underneath. It’s official, today I would stop and smell the roses if you will, and use my senses on a conscious level, so that I can be fully aware of all I’ve been given. When we are mindful of all we’ve been given we can find gratitude in the smallest of gestures.

I was deliberate with my thoughts and actions today. I thanked God for the ability to walk; for the gift of sight and sound; and for the safety of my home. When I felt my mood changing, I’d quickly shift my focus towards what I am grateful for; it helped to improve my mood and I was happier. I noticed the little things and looked for the good especially in difficult moments. I’m learning to bring gratitude to my experiences, rather than waiting for something positive to be thankful for.

When I celebrate a holiday, I am intentional about making the most of that day. I notice every detail, I make a mental note of the shimmering lights on the tree or the way the table was set; the smells that fill the air, and the voices of our loved ones are recorded in my mind as we share that special day. Today at dinner I decided to be intentional about making the most of that moment and here is what I discovered:

Tonight I made a venison roast in the crock pot with mashed potatoes and a salad. We said grace and before digging in I paid close attention to the visual presentation of the table and the food on my plate. The smell reminded me of dinners at my parent’s house and instantly memories of holidays past popped in my head. I noticed the texture of the food and how tender the meat was as it just melted in my mouth. The taste was pure comfort food heaven! We sat around talking like we always do but I focused on their faces as each one spoke. I listened intently to my family’s laughter… it was the most beautiful sound I ever did hear.

It wasn’t a special occassion, just a week night family dinner, something we do everyday and now something I will never look at the same way again. This dinner was a gift that touched the depth of my soul; It is a memory I will tuck away in my heart and relive each time I make a venison roast.  I want to live my life as if every meal were a holiday and everything were a miracle. I am grateful for the simple pleasures of every day life. God, thank you for awakening my heart and soul.

Blessings ~Danielle

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post... I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply

