A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out -DAY 2

♪♫Monday, Monday, can’t stop that day♫♪… hello day 2 of A Journey of Thanksgiving! How was your first day? I must say I was quite surprised at how you truly can be happy when you actually put your mind to it, and I mean that literally. I would say that yesterday was a success. I didn’t complain or whine about having to pick up after the kids for the umpteenth time, now that I think about it, I didn’t complain at all. I was happy because I was able to see the blessing in every task I did or at least I looked hard for it! Sure, washing blankets every other day and having them on the sofa for Lucky is a pain and at times I just don’t want to do it; but after my revelation with ironing Franco’s shirt yesterday, I know that there will be a day when the blankets aren’t needed and I will long to do it just one more time for Lucky.

When I woke up this morning, again I said thank you. I wanted to begin the day in the same way as yesterday; but of course no two days are alike. We all struggled to get out of bed this morning. I packed lunches for my family and then took Lucky for his quick morning walk to the bus stop and back. The air was crisp and I could see my breath. It felt invigorating and I was ready to start my day! I’ve been wanting to work on organizing our basement and I had a list of things that needed to get done and now I was motivated. I made Franco breakfast before he had to leave, emptied the dishwasher and then turned on the coffee pot. While I waited for my coffee, I lit our house candle and said my morning prayers; I included a prayer to ask God to help me look deeper into finding blessings again today.

Lucky wanted to go back outside so I let him out and watched him from the sliding glass door as I drank my coffee. He spotted a squirrel on the fence and bolted towards him barking… then he was crying and limping I ran out in my socks, he couldn’t put any weight on his paw and he was still crying. I picked him up and carried him to the sofa. I had him stay and I gently wiped each paw with a towel working my way to his injured paw. He was just whimpering a little at this point and I didn’t notice anything serious with his paw. I sat with him and pet him to make sure he didn’t try to get up. We had just celebrated his 4th birthday yesterday and I can’t imagine what I’d do if something had happened to him. I started to cry. Why can’t I be more like my dog? He is so forgiving, so loving, he sees the joy in everything, he is so thankful all the time. He brings such happiness to every life he touches, I want to be like my dog. Our fur-babies are our family, they fill a special place in our hearts and we can learn so much from them!

I sat with Lucky for quite some time until he seemed ok. I went back in the kitchen to finish my first cup of coffee and my phone rang… oh no school is calling! Alyssa was in the nurse’s office, again. Yes, the nurse and I are on a first name basis and it isn’t because of Giuseppe, he went to the nurse once since 1st grade! I spoke to Tracy then to Alyssa; I let her know she’ll be fine and to go make it a great day and I’d see her when she gets off the bus. Oh Monday, please don’t be bad… I had been up for 3 hours and still haven’t finished my first cup of coffee!

In between all the phone calls (3 of the calls were from school!), laundry, dinner prep and keeping an eye on Lucky (he seems better this evening), I did manage to get down to the basement to do some organizing. Back in March our basement flooded and since that initial clean up I had been meaning to get down there to re-organize and de-clutter again. I also had to stop several times to put ice and heat on my back and lay down. I thought about what life was like before I became disabled with my back and how I used to be able to get it all done …now everything is a continuous project that I hope to accomplish in a reasonable time frame. Instead of dwelling on what was once or wishing this or that; I focused on this 10 day challenge. Where can I find gratitude in what seems so unfair at times? Maybe God is telling me to slow down. Perhaps I am learning patience and perseverance something I would pray for so often especially when my children were small and I worked full-time. I looked them up — Patience Definition: the quality of being patient, as the bearing of provocation, annoyance, misfortune, or pain, without complaint, loss of temper, irritation, or the like. Perseverance Definition: steady persistence in a course of action, a purpose, a state, etc., especially in spite of difficulties, obstacles, or discouragement. Then I remembered a scripture — Romans 5:3-5 (NASB) …And not only this, but we also exult in our tribulations, knowing that tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.”. Well what do you know, prayers answered. It’s funny how we expect everything to be black or white, right or wrong when in reality, you have to look deeper to find the meaning and sometime you have to look within.

The rest of my day was a typical Monday filled with “if it could go wrong it will” scenarios! I had many things I had planned to do today and that needed to get done, but unfortunately that didn’t happen. But through it all and trust me it was a LONG day; I did my best to pause and look for the hidden blessings, I was intentional in looking for the good in every moment of my day, even though it would’ve been easier to just give up. What I discovered in my journey of thanksgiving today is this; I will have good days and bad, easy days and hard ones, promises will be broken and plans will change… but happiness truly is a mindset. Anyone can be happy even through the trials and tribulations; it takes a lot of work and determination. Sometimes we have to dig deep to find it, but in the end happiness is so worth it! God, thank you for giving me an opportunitiy to be patient; thank you for the many trials and tribulations that bring me perseverance. Thank you for the interruptions, the failures, the missed opportunities, the pain and heartache; thank you for the bad days God. I am learning to find joy in the messes.

Blessings ~ Danielle

 

 

 

 

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post... I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply

