A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out – DAY 1

Hello friends, welcome to the first day of our challenge A Journey of Thanksgiving are you ready to prepare your heart, mind and soul for the upcoming holiday season? If you didn’t get a chance to read my original post you can do that here. I had planned on posting this at the end of the day so that I could share with you all I was thankful for, but what I discovered in just the morning and early afternoon was too exciting to wait! So what was the first thing you did when you woke up this morning? Me, I said thank you. I had told myself that each morning when I wake up the first thing I will do is to say those powerful two little words to start my morning with thankfulness.

As I lied there in my warm bed I was thinking really hard about what I was going to be thankful for today… of course my first thought was my family, duh. Then I thought, God knows what is on my heart, he knows how grateful I am for my family, I need to look deeper…  It was then that my husband Franco interrupted my train of thought and asked me if I could iron his shirt for work while he was in the shower. I grumbled to myself; hello, it is early Sunday morning; I am comfy in my bed; and I really don’t want to get up and iron a shirt… but I rolled out of bed and did it anyway. As I ironed my husband’s shirt for work, I paused and prayed and cried. In that moment I realized that the shirts mean so much more! It means I have Franco in my life, my true love, my companion who means more to me than anything… Lord please let me always have his shirts to iron! We have running water, a washer and a dryer all of these that help to simplify this task. The shirts mean my husband has a stable job; in a time where so many do not and which I am so grateful for. That very job that I am ironing his shirt for, gives us the means to purchase the detergent to clean the laundry and pay for the electricity that runs the machines. Thank you God. Thank you for my family and the piles of dirty laundry they have! The clothes that I wash, dry, fold, iron and put away are a blessing that I will always be grateful for.


“Today I will be thankful for all the little socks and grass stained jeans and endless piles of laundry. For there will come a day when the laundry basket is empty and these days will be profoundly missed”


So I decided that today I will become aware of each task I do and look for the blessings in it. After he left for work, I went to church and then picked up Alyssa and her friend from a sleepover. We went to the cemetery to put up the Christmas wreath and came home. I changed my clothes and headed into the kitchen to make breakfast for the girls and begin some meal prep for the week. As I started in on the pile of dirty dishes, I remembered a quote I had read a while back and realized (again) that the very thing I would sometimes complain about having to do is in fact a blessing. Having dirty dishes piled in the sink means we have food to eat, and loved ones to share it with. Thank you God.


Thank God for dirty dishes;
They have a tale to tell.
While others may go hungry,
We’re eating very well
With home, health, and happiness,
I shouldn’t want to fuss;
By the stack of evidence,
God’s been very good to us.


     How about that, I am blessing my family doing an unpleasant or routine task. And when I see it like that, it doesn’t feel like housework anymore; but more like houseblessings… I think I will call it that from now on! I’m going to keep looking for all the hidden blessings as I go about my day today. Did you discover any hidden blessings? I know this can be personal for some, but If you’d like please share them, I’d love to hear how your first day went! Happy Sunday to you.

Blessings ~Danielle

One thought on “A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out – DAY 1

  1. Pingback: A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out -DAY 2 | Come and Sit for a Spell

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post... I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply

