A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out

IMG_20151113_111209


I cannot believe that Thanksgiving is less than two weeks away! This truly is my favorite time of year though… a time to reflect, to give, to be thankful, to make memories with family and friends… it’s the beginning of the most wonderful time of the year and I’ve been counting down with anticipation! Yep, Thanksgiving is right around the corner my friends and I couldn’t be happier; …or could I?!

     On Thanksgiving Day we are reminded of all the blessings that are a part of our lives. As I get older, I am realizing how quickly our minds head straight through to Christmas without really giving much thought to this Grateful Season. The hustle and bustle that comes this time of year takes over and with it we allow stress and worry to consume us. We begin to wonder how we are going to get it all done. We start our decorating, our wish lists, and shopping adventures. We do our baking, cleaning, organizing; we plan and rush and fill our calendars and overwhelm ourselves. Our good intentions become our regrets and in turn we forget to stop and enjoy the moment we are in; and instead dread or wish away this time of year.

     We all have days when we feel the world on our shoulders pressing with all its might! I realized that when I solely focus my energy on what is wrong in my life, those thoughts take over. And as hard as it can be at times, I try to find something to be thankful for everyday. This year I decided I am going to start preparing for the holiday season from the inside out! It’s said that the happiest people in the world are those with a grateful heart and I want that to be me! What if you took these days leading up to Thanksgiving, to be mindful of all you’ve been blessed with? What if you pause to appreciate even the tiniest of blessings throughout each moment of your day? What if you use your senses to the fullest in everything you do? Are you willing to take notice of what is right in front of you, to open your heart to so much more? Will you be intentional with your thoughts and allow yourself to be fully in tune for the joyous holidays to come?

 “Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances…”      Thessalonians 5:16-18

     If so, then I challenge you to take A Journey of Thanksgiving with me. For the 10 days leading up to Thanksgiving, I will use my blog as a daily journal of what I am thankful for and I encourage you to do the same. It can be as simple as a favorite quote that makes you smile and touches your heart or a list of each individual thing you’re thankful for. Whatever it is, write it down, whether on paper or on your heart; try to make a note of all your blessings. Wake up each morning with thankfulness, and end your day with a grateful heart! I hope you will join me on this simple yet fulfilling journey to help prepare our minds, hearts and souls for this grateful, joyous, wonderful time of year.

Blessings ~ Danielle 

9 thoughts on “A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out

  1. Pingback: A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out – DAY 1 | Come and Sit for a Spell

  2. Pingback: A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out -DAY 2 | Come and Sit for a Spell

  3. Pingback: A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out – DAY 3 | Come and Sit for a Spell

  4. Pingback: A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out – DAY 4 | Come and Sit for a Spell

  5. Pingback: A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out -DAY 6 | Come and Sit for a Spell

  6. Pingback: A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out – DAY 7 | Come and Sit for a Spell

  7. Pingback: A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out -DAY 8 | Come and Sit for a Spell

  8. Pingback: A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out -DAY 9 | Come and Sit for a Spell

  9. Pingback: A Journey of Thanksgiving: Preparing for the holiday season from the inside out -DAY 10 | Come and Sit for a Spell

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post... I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply

