I lost a month of my life!

Wow, where has the time gone?! I haven’t shared anything with you in over a month! I’d love to tell you that I have been on a family vacation, or working hard on a home project, maybe even spending countless hours with my family just enjoying each other, or any other wonderful reason I haven’t had time to blog…. but I can’t. It’s not easy for me to admit, but I have been consumed with “busyness”, “worrying” and “things”.

Matthew 6:27 “Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?” (NIV)

Honesty is hard to swallow sometimes. Just writing this confession made my soul ache. Why didn’t I hold on tighter to God? How could I be so weak? Why didn’t I try harder? What was I thinking? How could I waste so much time? I allowed my back pain, end of school year craziness, tough financial struggles, marital disagreements and even some family drama, to consume me. I struggled finding my way this time and I didn’t recognize myself; and I didn’t like it one bit! I came across this reading while in the midst of it all on New Creation Life and it helped me a lot.

“When we allow our problems to consume us, our minds often leaps from problem to problem to problem tangling our thoughts into anxious knots. When we think like that, we leave God out. Though He yearns to help us, God will not violate our freedom. He often stands quietly in the background of our mind, waiting for us to remember that He is with us. When we turn from our problems to looking to Him, our load immediately becomes lighter. Circumstances may not have changed, but God is carrying our burdens with us. Our compulsion to ‘fix’ everything right now keeps us from a deep and satisfying connection to God. Looking to God enables us to handle whatever a day brings. I love these words from the Bible: ‘The Lord your God is with you. He will take great delight in you. He will quiet you with His love.'” Pastor Max Amstutz

When you lose sight of who you are, what you believe in and who you strive to be each and everyday, you lose your way. Now the entire time wasn’t all bad; we had many happy celebrations, milestones, joy, laughter and lasting memories happen as well; but my oh my, how quickly the days become weeks, especially when you aren’t paying attention! We all endure the day by day, the stressful, the mundane, the tragic, the serving and caring of others, and we must find the joy in it all.

2 Corinthians 4:17 “For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.” (NIV)

During the past few of weeks, I did a lot of soul-searching. I strengthened my relationship with God and therefore my family; I took time for me to just be still; I noticed all the little things I was taking for granted; I looked for the good in everyone; I listened; I found joy in my daily life; I allowed love, grace and peace to lead my words and intentions; I found forgiveness; and in turn I found me again.

Blessings ~ Danielle

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post... I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply

