DIY Shamrock Garland

Do you decorate your home or mantel for the holidays? I had never had a fireplace growing up, so when my husband and I bought our home I was thrilled to have a mantel to decorate! I started getting more into decorating my mantel for each upcoming holiday or the current season when my children were little. I loved to see their excitement when they would help to pick out and display the decorations on the mantel. They both are still enthusiastic about decorating for Christmas, but for most of the other holidays it’s just me.

Since St. Patrick’s Day is coming up and many cities are having their celebrations this weekend; I thought I’d share with you this quick and easy Shamrock Garland I created from scrolling through Pinterest. This simple garland only cost me $1.08 and about 20 minutes of my time –well worth it in my book! I found these cute foam cutouts, 12 in a pack, at the dollar store which I originally purchased to make a wreath for our front door. I already had the two-sided tape and the white string which I had used to make this St. Valentine’s Day garland.

IMG_20150312_113838

Our Valentine’s Day Mantel

DIY Shamrock Garland from Come and Sit for a SpellTo start out, I separated the shamrocks so every other one would be glitter than non-glitter. Then I cut a small piece of two-sided tape and placed it on the back of each shamrock [which you can see in the photo] and pressed firmly so that it would stick to the garland. Before I would place the next shamrock on, I measured 2″ between so they would be evenly spaced out – yes I’m a freak when it comes to stuff like that! And that’s pretty much it! I decorated the rest of the mantel with green items I had around the house. My goal was to keep it light but festive and have the garland tie it all together.

The green vase and platter belonged to my grandmother. I use the vase to store my kitchen utensils next to my stove, but swapped it out to use it for my mantel decorations. The cross, the black pillar candle holder and the 3 small matching candle holders were past Party Lite purchases. I paid 50 cents for the vase with the orange flowers at a garage sale; the white candle is a Smith & Hawkin sale item I had bought from Target (not sure if they still carry it); and the lime green basket is from an Edible Arrangements gift I received. The subway art is a free printable I found from The Girl Creative – Simple and Pretty Projects website. I printed it onto photo paper and framed it in this black frame I had purchased from Walmart. If you like the subway art you can get your own copy by clicking on the picture of the Irish Blessing below.

Irish_blessing_subway_jpg%255B4%255D

So what do you think of this quick and easy garland idea? I’d love to hear any tips you may have for my next year’s St. Patrick’s Day mantel. Thank you so much for stopping by!

Blessings ~ Danielle

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post... I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply

