It’s a baking kind of day!

It’s 34° and I have a case of spring fever! Although tomorrow’s high temperature may only be 16°, and the snow isn’t going anywhere anytime soon; I actually started my spring cleaning. Monday morning, I had decided to start in the living room; since it is the one room (besides the bathroom and my bedroom) that I know I can finish in one day. Since cleaning takes a major toll on my back I do have to rest in between the process, and sadly it can sometimes take more than one day to complete a room.20150224_090310 Add in the days after; that I have to recuperate with my back pain; and spring cleaning a few rooms usually takes me a good month {sigh}. But I do have to say that the finished result is so rewarding and the sunlight sparkling through the clean living room windows was breathtaking and long over due…. how much longer until spring?!

Today my back is on the mend but not quite there to start another room, so I figured it’s a good day to bake. We have ripe bananas sitting on our counter and blueberries in the fridge that most likely won’t last til the weekend, so off to Pinterest to search some recipes. *side note: are you aware of how quickly time gets away from you when on the computer?* I found some great recipes but picked 2 that I had all the ingredients for at home and were easy to make. Double Chocolate Banana Bread and Blueberry Crumb Bars mmmm!

The Double Chocolate Banana Bread recipe is by Bake with Christina. I’ll be honest, I only read the first sentence, then scrolled to the list of ingredients to make sure I had them all so I could start making this right away…. I did go back to read the entire post, but she had me at “Calling all chocolate lovers!”. The only changes I made was opting to make muffins for a quick run out the door to the bus stop choice for the kids and replacing the 1 cup of chocolate chips with a heaping 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips. Just remember to reduce the baking time for muffins — toothpick test after 20 minutes. These muffins were so soft and tasted delicious and you can find the recipe here!

20150225_111207

20150225_120419

20150225_125840

The Blueberry Crumb Bars are a recipe I found on the blog runs.on.sundae. These bars are tart and sweet and oh so yummy! My son loved them and says they are awesome… and I must confess: I ate 3 before the kids came home from school! You can find the recipe here.

20150225_134713

20150225_141216

Hope you enjoy these recipes as much as I did and thanks for taking a moment to stop by!

Blessings~ Danielle

4 thoughts on “It’s a baking kind of day!

  1. Jessie

    Everything look really, really good on your blog today. 🙂 I am like you when it comes to cleaning. My body speaks up after so much and I don’t get nearly as much done in a day, or a month for that matter, that I would like to. I have to break things down really small. BTW: I love how you confessed to eating 3 bars before the kids came home from school. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Come and Sit for a Spell Post author

      Thank you so much Jessie! I’m sorry you too struggle physically, it can take a huge toll on our minds sometimes more than the screaming our bodies are doing.. just remember to always try and see the positives 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed my little confession and sadly the bars are already gone. I’m going to check out your blog today and follow you!
      Blessings, Danielle.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post... I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply

