Beer Battered Fish Fry

IMG_20150223_105605

“Friday fish fry” can be found just about anywhere here in Rochester; and if you ask anyone where to go out to eat on a Friday night during the Lenten season, you can bet they’ll name a place that has an incredible beer battered fish fry!

Growing up, Lent and fish fry seemed to go together. I remember going out to eat with our family for beer battered fish fry quite often, and my mom would even make them at home sometimes. I just love a good beer battered fish fry and sometimes find myself craving one, but making it at home? I never gave it a thought, until this past Friday.

I had searched Pinterest for beer battered fish fry recipes and found a lot more results than I had imagined. Who knew so many people make fried fish at home?! The same recipe was coming up numerous times (not sure who to give credit to, since the recipe was the exact same one on multiple sites) but it was the one I chose in the end.

Now I normally don’t fry food at home for my own reasons: the smell, the mess, the unhealthiness, standing in one place (to name a few) but my son and husband thought it would be a good alternative to our meat-less meals; so I agreed to give it a try. Surprisingly, it is was a lot easier than I thought and next time my family wants a “Friday fish fry” I won’t hesitate to make it at home again! Perhaps I’ll try cod or haddock? Self-rising flour? Onion powder? Cayenne pepper? Darker beer? Homemade tartar sauce or a vinegar malt? Beer battered onion rings? Homemade chips to go with the fish? Not quite sure, but the possibilities are endless!

Ingredients:

  • 8 pieces of tilapia – I already had it at home but you could use any white fish
  • 1 1/4 cups flour – plus extra for dredging the fish
  • 1/2  teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 egg
  • 1 bottle of beer
  • vegetable or canola oil – enough to fill about a quarter way up or so in heavy stock pot or deep fryer

Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl then add the egg and beer. Just mix until combined, batter will be think and a bit lumpy. Cover bowl with a tea towel and set aside to rest for about an hour. Heat oil *I don’t have a thermometer so I drop a little batter into the oil to see if it’s ready — the batter should start to bubble and rise on contact*. Place paper towels on a large platter and set aside near the stove to use for draining the fried fish. Working in batches, pat dry fish with a paper towel, salt & pepper fish to taste (optional), lightly dredge each piece in flour, dip the fish into the beer batter shaking off some of the excess, and fry, turning occasionally, until fish is cooked through and is a deep golden brown, about 5 minutes. Using a slotted spatula carefully transfer the fried fish to the paper towels to drain. Keep warm as you finish the rest of the fish. Serve with lemon wedges and tartar sauce. I made a homemade coleslaw too… yummy!

Is “Friday Fish Fry” popular in your home town? Have you ever made beer battered fish using a different recipe you would recommend? Isn’t it great to have the food you love to eat at a restaurant cooked in your own home with the result tasting just as good or better? Thanks for stopping by and I hope you like the recipe!

Blessings ~ Danielle 

2 thoughts on “Beer Battered Fish Fry

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post... I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply

