Our Lenten Centerpiece

Our Lenten Centerpiece

Our Lenten Centerpiece

Today marks the beginning of the Lenten Season — HAPPY ASH WEDNESDAY! Just as one looks to the changing seasons or the new year as a way to start fresh and begin anew; I look to Lent. After all the hustle and bustle of the holidays, my heart seems to long for the simplicity that Lent brings. It is such a beautiful time of year; a time to turn our hearts, minds and souls toward Christ and away from ourselves.

 “As I unclutter my life, I free myself to answer the callings of my soul.” ―Wayne W. Dyer

This DIY Lenten centerpiece was actually very easy and we made it with items we had lying around. For the Crown of Thorns we used some crafting rope and toothpicks… I didn’t have any grapevine and with the amount of snow we have here, there was no way of finding some branches or twigs. Since they were white I used the wood stain we had on hand from when my husband installed our laminate flooring. The base is a candle holder I purchased from Party Lite years ago and the rocks and sand were from an old tabletop fountain we no longer own. I used a desktop cross my son had received from religion class, a few nails we had in the basement and a candle I had on a shelf.

IMG_20150218_082455

I hot glued each toothpick in different directions throughout the crown and when finished my daughter and I took turns staining it with a small paintbrush. First I put the candle in the center of the base, then I scattered the rocks all around and sprinkled the sand on top. When the Crown of Thorns was dried I was placed it on top and added the nails and cross. Our family will light the candle before dinner each night of Lent. We’ll read the scripture for that day, pray as a family and be reminded of the ultimate sacrifice that was made for us.

“But rejoice inasmuch as you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed.” 1 Peter 4:13 (NIV)

IMG_20150218_081803

I would love to hear your thoughts on our centerpiece, and as always, thank you for taking the time to stop by!

Blessings ~ Danielle

2 thoughts on “Our Lenten Centerpiece

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post... I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply

