Yesterday You Said Tomorrow

So a while back I had shared this photo on social media along with the caption “Hmm, I wonder if I could use Nike to get my point across to my kids… #JustDoIt #procrastinateNOmore.”

Hmm, I wonder if I could use Nike to get my point across to my kids               #JustDoIt #procrastinateNOmore

Although the post was in fun; as if you didn’t already get the humor; was there more to it? What if I was on to something? Our children have influential material at every turn; billboards, magazines, television, social media, church, school, groups, clubs, etc… some are positive, some not so much; but in the end it’s how our child perceives it, that gives it true meaning in their life. Nike, for example, is always pointing out the obvious, that hard work leads to success and so forth. So, why not use their advice to my advantage? I mean after all; my daughter loves Nike and my son has an obsession with all things Nike; so I figured, why not?!

I can tell you that since my children have become tweens, I’ve spent countless seconds, minutes and what seems like hours (that’s embarrassing to admit) asking them to do something only to have them put it off. They can tell you first hand that “my mom uses the Do It Now Principle (which I learned from Flylady), all the time.” Yes, I’ve actually overheard them telling their friends this in the past; but do you think they use it? Nope, they always say “I know Mom”, “I’ll do it in a minute”, “after this”, “later”, “tomorrow”, “I don’t feel like it”, “not right now”, “don’t worry mom” or “it will get done”… but, no go. Does this sound familiar to you too? As the saying goes, we can talk about doing things until we’re blue in the face, but if we don’t take action, then it won’t get done.

Just like our faith has to be lived and not just spoken, so does our responsibilities and if we apply this in everything we do, then it will get done. You see that a person is considered righteous by what they do and not by faith alone.” James 2: 24 (NIV). If we wait until we feel like doing something then we may never get to it! I tell this to my children all the time. I’ve shared the importance of not procrastinating with them and how easy it is to take those extra seconds to do it now. I’ve had heart to heart conversations while they were stressed out and felt the burden they put on themselves waiting till the last-minute to complete schoolwork or a project. I’ve also used, in the moment situations, to show examples and explain the significance of using your time wisely. Even my own real life procrastination stories have been shared with them, and yet I’m still waiting for them to Just Do It! WAIT A MINUTE {insert lightbulb moment} Just Do ItNike. Genius!

It’s brilliant, perfect and why haven’t I thought of it sooner! If my kids have to hear me ask (nag) them to do something, I might as well be using a “theme” they can relate to. So while having dinner, I shared with them that I’d like us to try a new outlook towards our responsibilities, I said our new motto is Just Do It . Now let me point out that every time (this one included) I come up with a new way of solving “problems” around here or a different approach to making family responsibilities more enjoyable, I’d usually get the old, “Mom, did you learn that from Flylady” or their more recent “Let me guess Mom, Pinterest?” — huh, they didn’t even catch on that it’s the Nike’s slogan — Why no, it’s not from Flylady or Pinterest; I got the idea from Nike! At this point I’m smiling ear to ear because I am using something they love and I’m hoping they’ll have the same excitement (que: eye-rolls, a “wait, what?!” and sarcastic laughter from the peanut gallery aka my children). My son’s response to my new way of getting my point across; “Nike is sports mom, not homework and chores.” Well who says you can’t apply it to everyday life? Any quote or scripture can have so many different meanings when used in our particular life situation, it’s all how you look at it. Our past ways are no longer cutting it, we need to try something else. After much “deliberation”, I guess you can say the kids finally caved in, the expectations and consequences were decided and agreed upon by all, and our new take on family/personal responsibilities has begun…  JUST DO IT!

Have you ever used a quote, saying or scripture to get your point across to your child(ren)? When I read a quote, what it means and how it relates to a given life situation is all in my perspective. What do you think? I’d love for you to share your thoughts and/or advice on what works for you, as I’m always looking for new ways to help bring peace into our home.

Blessings ~ Danielle

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post... I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply

