Gram’s Marinara

l_89c39a52beb549e783d271102a7ee5c2[1]Gram and Me

This may sound like a cliche, but there is nothing like Grandma’s cooking! Both of my grandmothers and my great-grandmother (God rest their souls) were amazing cooks, and I can still taste the deliciousness of my favorite dishes they would make…. Mmm, my mouth is watering now. The picture above is of my Grandma Theresa and myself in her kitchen where the magic happened. Whether it was her Sunday noon dinners of pasta and sauce or her incredible holiday feasts, you just couldn’t duplicate that homemade goodness. Granted my mom and many of us grandchildren have perfected some of her “famous” dishes, the memory making that was tied to the meals, always made them taste that much better! Here I share with you the recipe for my Gram’s Marinara sauce, hope you enjoy it…

Ingredients:
canola oil to saute
chopped onion
clove of garlic minced
can of whole tomatoes
can of stewed tomatoes
baking soda
sugar
Italian seasoning
basil
oregano
salt & pepper
small can baby peas
small can mushrooms pieces and stems
tomato paste (optional)

In large pot saute onions in oil stirring occasionally; cook until clear. While the onions saute, pour the cans of tomatoes into a blender and blend until a nice consistency, my family prefers no chucks of tomatoes. Look at the rich color of the tomatoes, so pretty

0922131348

set the tomatoes aside and add garlic to the onions and cook for just a few minutes (careful not to burn the garlic) as you can see I use my garlic press, I just love how quick & easy it is to use and I don’t have smelly hands after

0922131350

Pour the blended tomatoes into the pot and rinse each can with water and add to the pot. Cover and bring to a boil.

0922131353

add some baking soda to the sauce stir then cover and cook more, next add 1/2 tsp or less of sugar, some Italian seasoning, basil, a little oregano and salt and pepper to taste

0922131416

add the peas and mushrooms  (this is also when you can add some tomato paste if you prefer thicker sauce) cook until heated through. Add to your favorite pasta and devour.

0922131521

I’d love to know what you think of Gram’s Marinara, so don’t forget to let me know how your sauce turns out!

Blessings ~Danielle

 

2 thoughts on “Gram’s Marinara

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my post... I'd love to hear from you, please leave a reply

